Our History

In the fall of 1993, faced with a perceived threat to ownership and governance, a group of owners, administrators and board members who were associated with religiously affiliated health care facilities in British Columbia first came together.  Representatives of this group subsequently negotiated with the provincial government, a Master Agreement that preserves the respective religious missions and values of the founding owners and sponsors of our health care facilities in the province.  This legal agreement is an enduring covenant that commits our members to work as partners with health authorities in achieving health reform goals in BC.

This formerly ad hoc group formalized itself into an association in January of 1995 that continues to represent denominational health facilities with various government-related bodies.

The members of the association are the twenty-one owners of forty-four facilities in BC. The DHA board of directors is comprised of representatives of these owners.

Our members come from twelve different religious denominations:  Anglican, Baptist, Foursquare Gospel, Hope Reform, Jewish, Lutheran, Mennonite, Pentecostal, Plymouth Brethren, Roman Catholic, Salvation Army and United.  According to the 1991 census, the people in these twelve denominations make up more than 52% of the population of our province.